East Bengal drop Abhra from Federation Cup squad

Kolkata: Aiming for a hat-trick of titles, East Bengal today ignored their out-of-form captain Abhra Mondal from a 20-member squad for their Federation Cup campaign.

In the absence of Abhra, who was instrumental in their Federation Cup success in 2009-10 season, Sandip Nandi will be under the bar, while Sanju Pradhan will lead the seven-time champions.

Keen on notching up a third straight title, coach Trevor James Morgan also did not compromise on the line up as he picked a strong side boasting the duo of Tolgay Ozbey and Orji Penn in forward alongside their latest recruit Alan Gow.

Gow has already caught the attention of the Englishman coach and in all likelihood it will be an all-foreign attacking line-up with Ozbey partnering Gow.

Talismanic Mehtab Hossain will man the midfield that also boasts of Penn, Reisangmei Vashum and skipper Pradhan.

Down with an injury, midfielder Sushant Mathew has been ruled out of the Federation Cup, even as defender Thockchom Naoba Singh despite an ankle injury finds a place in the squad.

The defending champions will take on Mohammedan Sporting on September 17 to kick off their campaign here from group C that will also have Dempo and Pune FC.


Sandip Nandi, Jayanta Pal, Gurpreet Singh; Thockchom Naoba Singh, Abhishek Das, Nirmal Chhetri, Raju Gaikwad, Uga Okpara, Saumik Dey, Robert Lalthlamuana; Sanju Pradhan (c), Mehtab Hossain, Orji Penn, Reisangmei Vashum, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, K Paite; Tolgay Ozbey, Alan Gow, Robin Singh, Baljit Singh Sahni.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link