East Bengal recorded eighth straight victory in Sahara CFL

Kolkata: East Bengal maintained their all win run as the Federation Cup winners recorded their eighth consecutive win in the Sahara Calcutta Football League for Premier Division defeating George Telegraph 3-1 at Yuba Bharati Krirangan here on Tuesday.

The red and yellow forged ahead early when Budhiram Tudu struck home in the 10th minute of a Robin Singh left cross to make it 1-0.

Inspired with the quick lead East Bengal kept up their pressure and and former Mahindra United’s winger Sushant Mathew doubled for East Bengal two minutes later from Mehtab Hossain’s corner to make the score line 2-0.

Lowly placed George Telegraph fighting relegation in the 17-team premier division domestic league championship bounced back after the breather. They reduced the margin when midfielder Dipak Doloi split East Bengal’s complacent defence with a neat strike five minutes into the second session.

As East Bengal defenders looked each other Doloi capitalising the gap sped past from the middle to beat goalkeeper Abhra Mondol much to the consternation of coach Trevor James Morgan on the sideline 2-1.

This was the second goal conceded by East Bengal in the league. The red and yellow outfit has scored 30 goals.

Sensing an urge to retaliate an unsavoury goal, East Bengal launched a counter attack and Orgi Penn found the target from left following short pass by left winger Robin Singh.

Penn’s goal was his seventh in this edition as East Bengal maintained their all win record in the 13th game of this season in domestic league and Federation Cup.

East Bengal also maintained their top position in the league table with 24 points from eight games while George Telegraph stayed put at five points from nine plays.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link