Elvis Gomes set to become Goa Football Association chief

Panaji: Elvis Gomes is all set to become the president of Goa Football Association (GFA) after Savio Messias withdrew his candidature for the post.

The election to appoint the president, which has become a formality now, executive committee members and the vice-president (North Zone) will be held on July 27.

Among other contestants to the executive committee of the Association, a three-way contest is on cards for the post of vice-president (North Zone) following the withdrawal of Nilkant Naik.

Those left in fray are Babli Mandrekar, Lavinio Jude Rebello and Jose Welvin Maximo de Menezes.

The vice-president (south zone) has already been decided with Schubert Furtado being the lone nomination.

Similar is the case with the executive committee members from Mormugao and Ilhas.

Lawrence Gomes, Andre Rrodrigues and Prakash Naik are the three candidates from Mormugao, while Sanjiv Nagvekar, Angelo Albuquerque and Jose Welvin Maximo de Menezes have got elected from Ilhas Zone following the withdrawal of Shankar Kalangutkar, Rupesh Halankar and Victor Gonsalves.

Elections for the executive committee members of Bardez Zone and Salcete Zone will be contested along with the Vice-president post (North).

The contestants from Bardez for the six posts include Gajanan Kerkar, Raju Banavalikar, Uday Linguadkar, Luciano Pereira, Rony Remedios, Santosh Bandodkar, Patrick D`Souza, Dominic Pereira,Alirio Lobo and Francis Viegas.

Arnaldo Costa, Antonio Leo Fernandes, Benedito Bishut Themudo, Anthony Pango, Joe Mario Fernandes, Joaquim Inacio Fernandes, Dionisio Dias, John Silva and Jaju Fernandes will fight it out for the six berths from Salcete, a press release from GFA said.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link