England announce 23-man squad for Euro Championship

London: England football manager Roy Hodgson named his 23-man squad for this summer`s trip to Poland and Ukraine for UEFA EURO 2012 Wednesday. Manchester United`s centre-back Rio Ferdinand was the surprise omission from the team.

Norwich City goalkeeper John Ruddy and Arsenal midfielder Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain make their first appearance in the senior squad.

Meanwhile, Liverpool`s out-form striker Andy Carroll is selected as one of four strikers alongside Wayne Rooney, Danny Welbeck and Jermain Defoe, reported Xinhua.

There are two warm-up games before the tournament. England face Norway in Oslo for Hodgson`s first game in charge May 26 before they play Belgium at Wembley Stadium June 2 in preparation for the Finals.

The first game of the tournament is against France in Donetsk June 11.

The Squad:

Goalkeepers: Robert Green (West Ham United), Joe Hart (Manchester City), John Ruddy (Norwich City).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Joleon Lescott (Manchester City), John Terry (Chelsea).

Midfielders: Gareth Barry (Manchester City), Stewart Downing (Liverpool), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Scott Parker (Tottenham Hotspur), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Ashley Young (Manchester United).

Forwards: Andy Carroll (Liverpool), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Welbeck (Manchester United) Jermain Defoe (Tottenham Hotspur).

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link