Federation Cup timings revised after pressure from clubs

New Delhi: The All India Football Federation (AIFF) Friday changed the timings of the Federation Cup, starting Saturday, after participating clubs protested against the earlier schedule.

Matches, originally scheduled at 2.30 p.m. and 7.30 p.m., have now been changed to 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. The semi-finals and the final will be played from 6 p.m.

AIFF`s marketing and broadcast partner Reliance-International Management Group (IMG) said the timings were tweaked to help the clubs.

"The clubs were unhappy with the timings and now it has been changed," Ashu Jindal, chief operating officer of RIL-IMG, said.

The clubs had complained that it was not possible for the players to play in the sweltering heat in the afternoon. The timings were earlier set to suit a regional news channel, which will be telecasting live the matches held in Kolkata.

"The timings were changed after the clubs said that it was not possible for the players to play in the heat. The three hours between two matches would have also caused inconvenience for both the clubs and the spectators," AIFF vice-president Subrata Dutta said.

Revised timing:

Group A (Pune):
Sep 17: Mohun Bagan vs Royal Wahingdoh (4 p.m.); Churchill Brothers vs Shillong Lajong (7 p.m.)
Sep 19: Royal Wahingdoh vs Churchill Brothers (4 p.m.); Shillong Lajong vs Mohun Bagan (7 p.m.);
Sep 21: Shillong Lajong vs Royal Wahingdoh (4 p.m.); Mohun Bagan vs Churchill Brothers (7 p.m.);

Group B (Pune):

Sep 18: Salgaocar vs Mumbai FC (4 p.m.); Pailan Arrows vs. HAL (7 p.m.)
Sep 20: HAL vs Salgaocar SC (4 p.m.); Mumbai FC vs Pailan Arrows (7 p.m.)
Sep 22: Pailan Arrows vs Salgaocar (4 p.m.); Mumbai FC vs HAL (7 p.m.)

Group C (Kolkata):

Sep 17: Dempo SC vs Pune FC (4 p.m.); East Bengal vs Mohammedan Sporting (7 p.m.)
Sep 19: Pune FC vs East Bengal (4 p.m.); Mohammedan Sporting vs Dempo SC (7 p.m.)
Sep 21: East Bengal vs Dempo (4 p.m.); Pune FC vs Mohammedan Sporting (7 p.m.)

Group D (Kolkata):

Sep 18: Prayag United SC vs Chirag United Kerala (4 p.m.); Sporting Clube de Goa vs Air India (7 p.m.)
Sep 20: Air India vs Prayag United SC (4 p.m.); Chirag United Kerala vs Sporting Clube de Goa (7 p.m.)
Sep 22: Prayag United SC vs Sporting Clube de Goa (4 p.m.); Air India vs Chirag United Kerala (7 p.m.)

Semi-final (Kolkata):

Sep 25: Group A winner vs Group B winner (6 p.m.)
Sep 26: Group C winner vs Group D winner (6 p.m.)

Final (Kolkata):
Sep 29: 6 p.m.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link