Football Writers` Association votes Suarez 2014 `Footballer of the Year`

Johannesburg: England`s Football Writers` Association (FWA) has reportedly voted Liverpool striker Luis Suarez as 2014 Footballer of the Year on Monday.

Suarez, whose 30 Premier League goals have kept Liverpool in sight of their first Premier League title in 24 years, has reportedly bagged a `double` honour, which comes after he was named Player of the Year by his colleagues in England`s Professional Footballer`s Association.

According to Sport24, the Uruguayan International has topped a poll of more than 300 journalists ahead of Liverpool skipper Steven Gerrard and will bag the FWA award, which has been running since 1948 at a gala dinner at London`s Lancaster Hotel on May 15.

FWA chairman Andy Dunn, of the Sunday Mirror, said that the members who have been fortunate enough to be working at a match involving Luis Suarez have witnessed an astonishing talent first-hand.

Dunn also said that tireless endeavors linked with extraordinary imagination makes an irresistible combination and combined with ingenious, impudent finishing, one has got a footballer who truly quickens the pulse.

Dunn further added that Suarez is a remarkably gifted addition to the long and distinguished list of winners of their award.

Suarez got voted for the prestigious prize with 52 percent of a ballot in which votes had been cast for 10 players in all, with Gerrard being voted as the runner up and Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure, who has been a key figure in Manchester City `s English title race, in the third place, the report added.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link