I League winners to pocket a prize money of Rs 1 crore

Last season's I-League champions pocketed Rs 70 lakh which means that there will be a increase of Rs 30 lakh.

I League winners to pocket a prize money of Rs 1 crore

New Delhi: The I League champions of the upcoming 2016 edition will get a winners cheque of Rs 1 crore (INR 10 million), which will be a significant hike from the previous seasons, a decision that was taken at I-League committee meeting at AIFF headquarters, here on Wednesday.

The I League will start on January 9 and end in may, 2016.

Last season's I-League champions Mohun Bagan pocketed Rs 70 lakh (INR 7 million) which means that there will be a straightaway increase of Rs 30 lakh.

The second placed team will get INR 6 million (Rs 60 lakh) and team placed third will get INR 4 million (Rs 40 lakh) respectively.

Fourth placed team will take home INR 2.5 million while winners of each match will get an additional prize money of Rs 50,000.

Subsidies will also be increased keeping the clubs' interest in mind. Travel subsidy will be raised to INR 4.5 million and match-day subsidy will be increased to INR 1 Lakh which will see a rise of INR 30,000 from last season. 

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link