ISL: ATK writes on assistant referee's ruled out goal
Peeved at the assistant referee's ruling out a stoppage time goal, Atletico de Kolkata have written to the AIFF with video evidence.
Kolkata: Peeved at the assistant referee's ruling out a stoppage time goal, Atletico de Kolkata have written to the AIFF with video evidence.
"We have submitted the copy of the video footage which leaves no doubt that the ball had crossed the goalline. This has not happened for the first time in the tournament... We're awaiting a response," ATK co-owner Utsav Parekh said today referring to their loss against Kerala Blasters at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi on Friday.
Former India captain Sourav Ganguly, who is also the team co-owner, has meanwhile took to twitter to express his anguish.
"I've not seen a football team be on the receiving end as ATK... If the second goal of Garcia is not a goal then rules football have changed," Ganguly has written in his twitter handle @SGanguly99.
Lack of goalline technology had robbed ATK of a draw as the assitant referee had ruled out a sure shot goal in ATK's favour when Luis Garcia's stoppage time shot had crossed the line after coming off the cross piece.
Television replays confirmed that Garcia's shot had indeed crossed the line and so a draw would have been a fair result.
A draw would have reinstated ATK in the lead as they occupy second place behind Chennaiyin FC on goal difference.