Berlin: Bayern Munich winger Arjen Robben admitted on Saturday he realizes it will take a while before a referee gives him a penalty, especially after apologising for diving at this year`s World Cup.
Robben felt referee Knut Kircher should have pointed to the spot after he appeared to be taken down in the box from behind by Daniel Halfar in the first half of Bayern`s 2-0 Bundesliga win over Cologne.
"It was a clear penalty. They didn`t give it. I have to accept that. The fans whistle at me but they cannot forget that we are fouled so much. But I have to accept it and just wait," said Robben, who briefly looked towards Kircher in frustration before getting up and carrying on with the game.
"I told my team-mates that it will probably take a year before I get another penalty called for me.
"It goes back to the World Cup. I made a mistake back then and apologised. That wasn`t a penalty but it was a mistake."
Robben apologised for diving in the first half of the Netherlands` 2-1 victory over Mexico in the last 16 of the World Cup in Brazil.
But he then won a penalty in stoppage time at the end of the game, allowing the Dutch to win the match.
"I have to apologise. In the first half I took a dive," he told Dutch TV at the time. "The one at the end was a penalty."