Maha, AP, Kar start Santosh Trophy campaign on winning note

Updated: Jul 15, 2010, 20:43 PM IST

Kolkata: Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh and
Karnataka started their campaign on a winning note in the 64th
National Football Championship for Santosh Trophy 2009-10
which began at different venues here on Thursday.

In a cluster I match at Khardah Stadium, Meghalaya held
Karnataka for most part of the game before Don Bosco (89th
minute) scored a late goal to give the southern state a 1-0

Maharashtra, however, dished out a dominating performance
against Chandigarh and registered a thumping 4-0 victory at
the Howrah Stadium in a cluster II match.

Substitute Surojit Bose, a former Mohun Bagan player,
sparkled in his 33 minutes of play, scoring two goals while
Reuben D`Souza and Alex Ambrose found the rival net once each
to complete Chandigarh`s rout.

D`Souza gave Maharashtra the lead in the 35th minute when
he scored from a Paresh Shivalkar pass from the right.

After the changeover, Maharashtra looked more ominous and
struck thrice in nine minutes to complete the tally.

Bose opened his account from a Jatin Bisht cross in the
80th minute, while he scored his second in the 89th minute.

In between, Ambrose found the back of the net in the 87th

In another cluster II match, Andhra Pradesh scored a 2-1
victory over Tripura to occupy the second spot behind

Vijay Kumar and Faisal scored for Andhra, while Tripura
reduced the margin through Liton Majumder.