Meghalaya lifts U-17 Boys` Subroto Cup title

New Delhi: OM Roy Memorial, Shillong, Meghalaya won the U-17 Boy’s title of the 54th Subroto Cup in spectacular fashion, outplaying Magurmari High School, Kokrajhar, Assam 4-0 in a thrilling final at the Ambedkar Stadium here Saturday.

Mebanshan Suting (35th minute) scored for Meghalaya in the closing stages of the first half while Nongrud Jefforson (46th min), Kynter Lenningston (61st min) and Kurbah Michaelson (69th min) found the net after the break.

This is the second time after 1978 that a team from Meghalaya has won the U-17 Boys’ title. They had lost in the final in 2011. For Assam, who have won in 1986 and 1992, this was their fifth appearance in the final.

“We did not play very well in the first half, but we managed to find our rhythm in the second half,” Meghalaya striker Mebanshan Suting, who emerged as the second highest scorer with seven goals said after the final.

For the first time in the history of the Subroto Cup, I-League clubs have shown interest in scouting talented youngsters from the nationwide tournament with spotters from Shillong Lajong and Pune FC selecting a total of 15 boys.

These boys will be sent for trials with these two clubs.

These 15 boys and U-17 Boys’ champions OM Roy Memorial, Meghalaya will also take part in the Bayern Youth Cup, a tournament organised by Adidas in association with German club Bayern Munich to be held in the capital by the end of this year.

List of Awards for U-17 Boys:

Best player: Mebanshan Suting (OM Roy High School, Shillong, Meghalaya)

Best coach: Jeffrey Warlarpih (OM Roy High School, Shillong, Meghalaya)

Best goalkeeper: Sten Banshanlanl (OM Roy High School, Shillong, Meghalaya)

Most promising player: Jwngbla Brahma (Magurmari High School, Kokrajhar, Assam)

Fairplay Award: GV Raja Sports School (Kerala)

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link