Mohun Bagan announces Federation Cup squad

Kolkata: Thirteen-time champions and last year`s runners-up Mohun Bagan today named a star-studded 20-member squad for the upcoming Federation Cup football tournament.

A new look Mohun Bagan under coach Steve Darby, boasts of a threatening forward line-up with the likes of top foreign striker Odafa Onyeka Okolie, India star forward Sunil Chhetri and Brazilian stalwart Jose Ramirez Barreto, who has been named skipper this season.

The green-and maroon brigade`s mid-field will also have new recruits in the versatile Syed Rahim Nabi, who has been roped in from arch-rivals East Bengal, former Viva Kerala veteran N P Pradeep and Brazilian Hudson Lima Silva, who is the captain`s pick.

Former JCT central defender Anwar Ali, player of Asian origin Simon Storey will form the core of Mohun Bagan`s backline that will also have Surkumar Singh and Rakesh Masih to add depth.

Mohun Bagan will open their campaign in Group A against qualifiers Royal Wahingdoh on September 17 in Pune. The other teams in the group are Churchill Brothers and Shillong`s Lajong.

Squad: Shilton Paul, Sangram Mukerjee; Simon Storey, Kingshuk Debnath, Rakesh Masih, Anwar Ali, Surkumar Singh; Sheikh Jewel Raja, Manish Maithani, T Bungo Singh, N P Pradeep, Murali Joseph, Syed Rahim Nabi, Hudson Lima Silva, Satish Kumar; Sunil Chhetri, Jose Barreto (c), Odafa Onyeka Okolie, Jagtar Singh, Ashim Biswas.