Patel elected as AFC ExCo member

Last Updated: Jan 06, 2011, 19:31 PM IST

Doha: All India Football Federation president Praful Patel was on Thursday elected as an executive committee member of the Asian Football Confederation during the AFC Congress here.

Patel, who yesterday pulled out of the race for the post of vice-president, won the election for executive committee membership from the South-Central Zone, contested by six candidates. He got 26 votes in his favour.

The other five candidates were Ganesh Thapa (Nepal), Makhdoom Syed Faisal Hayat (Pakistan), Sardor Rakhmatullaev (Uzbekistan), Ali Azim (Maldives) and Suhrob Qosimov (Tajikistan).

Patel`s predecessor in the AIFF, Priya Ranjan Das Munshi was a member of the outgoing AFC executive committee.

The post is for a four-year term from 2011 to 2015.

Former AIFF General Secretary Alberto Colaco was also conferred with the AFC Distinguished Service Gold Award for his contribution towards development of Indian football.

Meanwhile, Mohamed Bin Hammam won a new four-year term as AFC president, his third term in a row. The Qatari, who has been in the job since 2002, was elected unopposed until 2015, and vowed to take the game to a new level.

Seen as potential successor to FIFA president Sepp Blatter, Hammam has been instrumental in changing the face of Asian football. The 61-year-old is seen as a moderniser who has overseen the launch of the AFC Champions League and the admission of Australia into the confederation.

Jordan`s Prince Ali bin Al Hussein stunned powerful South Korean Chung Mong-Joon by unseating him as a FIFA vice-president. He becomes the youngest member of the FIFA executive committee at the age of 35, after rallying Arab support behind him.

Chung, the controlling shareholder in industrial giant Hyundai Heavy Industries, a major FIFA sponsor, had been in the job since 1994 and was widely expected to retain the role. But the AFC`s 45 eligible members voted 25-20 in favour of Prince Hussein.

Chung had supported an unsuccessful attempt to unseat Blatter 10 years ago. Blatter was in the audience for the vote.

Sri Lanka`s Manilal Fernando and Thailand`s Worawi Makudi won the two seats up for elections for the FIFA Executive Committee member.

Fernando got 23 of the 45 eligible votes while Worawi gained 24 votes to retain his seat on FIFA`s decision-making body. Victory was by a simple majority.

AFC`s four representatives on the FIFA Executive Committee are Prince Ali Bin Al Hussein (FIFA vice president, Jordan), Mohamed Bin Hammam (Qatar), Vernan Manilal Fernando (Sri Lanka) and Worawi Makudi (Thailand).

The Congress is being held just a day before the continent`s flagship football tournament -- the AFC Asian Cup -- in Qatar which kicks off in Doha on Friday. Qatar was recently awarded the right to host the 2022 FIFA World Cup.