Santosh Trophy in Kolkata from July 15-Aug 8

Updated: Jun 04, 2010, 17:54 PM IST

New Delhi: The 64th National Football
Championship for the Santosh Trophy 2009-10 will be held in
Kolkata from July 15 to August 8 without some of the country`s
top players in action.

Thirty national team players will not take part in the
tournament as they will start training next month for the
Asian Cup to be held in Doha, Qatar from January 7-29 next

Thirty-two teams will participate in the Santosh Trophy
with defending champions Goa, runners-up Bengal and
semifinalists Tamil Nadu and Services being directly seeded
into the quarterfinal league.

In the preliminary round, 28 teams will be divided into
eight clusters. The teams will play round-robin league in each

The winner of each cluster will then battle it out in the
knock-out pre-quarterfinal stage for a place in the
quarterfinal league.

The quarterfinal league will be held from July 30 to
August 4, while the semifinals will be played on August 6.
The grand finale of the tournament will be played on July 8.

In the last edition held in Tamil Nadu, Goa lifted the
trophy after defeating Bengal in the penalty shootout.

Cluster I: Karnataka, Meghalaya and Jharkhand.

Cluster II: Maharashtra, Chandigarh, Tripura and Andhra

Cluster III: Punjab, Puducherry, Gujarat and Nagaland.

Cluster IV: Manipur, Jammu and Kashmir, Rajasthan.

Cluster V: Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and
Arunachal Pradesh.

Cluster VI: Haryana, Chhattisgarh and Sikkim.

Cluster VII: Kerala, Uttarakhand, Assam and Himachal

Cluster VIII: Mizoram, Orissa and Railways.