South Africa 2010- A tournament of firsts

Durban: Either Spain or the Netherlands will become the eighth nation to be crowned World Cup champions Sunday as one team will win their first world title.

Both the teams have never won this prestigious trophy hence making this clash an interesting battle of chasing glory.

It is the first World Cup on Africa soil. The South Africans are the first host nation to bow out in the group stage. And for the first time, a European nation will win a World Cup outside of Europe.

Spain`s victory over three-time winners Germany means either Spain or the Netherlands will be the first nation since France in 1998 to claim a World Cup crown for the first time.

Here’s a breakdown of the past World Cup champions:

  • Brazil: Five world titles - 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
  • Italy: Four - 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
  • Germany: Three - 1954, 1974, 1990
  • Uruguay: Two - 1930, 1950
  • Argentina: Two - 1978, 1986
  • England: One - 1966
  • France: One – 1998


  • By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link