UEFA to confirm 13 Euro 2020 host countries in September

Paris: UEFA will reveal the 13 countries chosen to host Euro 2020 on September 19 in Geneva, European football`s governing body announced on Thursday. 

Nineteen countries have put forward one city each to host the new Europe-wide format, the brainchild of UEFA president Michel Platini, to celebrate 60 years of the tournament that began in 1960. 

Candidate cities can target a special "package" to host semi-finals and the final or one of 12 other packages that would see them stage three group matches, a second round match or a quarter-final. 

London and Munich, who are the only cities to bid for the semi-finals and final, have also bid for standard packages, but will only be allocated one or the other.

Hence, the semi-finals and final will be played either in England or Germany. 

The other candidates bidding for a standard package are:

Azerbaidjan (Baku), Belarus (Minsk), Belgium (Brussels), Bulgaria (Sofia), Denmark (Copenhagen), Hungary (Budapest), Ireland (Dublin), Israel (Jerusalem), Italy (Rome), Macedonia (Skopje), Netherlands (Amsterdam), Romania (Bucharest), Russia (Saint Petersburg), Scotland (Glasgow), Spain (Bilbao), Sweden (Stockholm) and Wales (Cardiff).