Wim Koevermans names India squad for SAFF Championship

New Delhi: National Football coach Wim Koevermans on Monday announced the 20-member Indian squad for the upcoming SAFF Championship which is scheduled to be held in Nepal from August 31 to September 11.

The Indian National Team, which will open its campaign against Pakistan on September 1, will leaves for Kathmandu on Tuesday.

It is only be the second time since 1997 that Nepal will be hosting the tournament, where eight teams will fight it out for the coveted title.

India has been clubbed alongwith Pakistan, Bangladesh and hosts Nepal in Group A, while Group B comprises Afghanistan, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Bhutan.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul, Karanjit Singh, Sandip Nandy.

Defenders: Nirmal Chettri, Arnab Mondal, Gouramangi Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Sandesh Jhingan, Mohanraj Nalappan.

Midfielders: Syed Rahim Nabi, Mehtab Hossain, Arata Izumi, Lenny Rodriguez, Alwyn George, Jewel Raja Shaikh, Francis Fernandes.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh, Dawson Fernandes, Jeje Lalpekhlua.

Head Coach: Wim Koevermans.