Klinsmann names 30-man provisional World Cup squad

Los Angeles: US coach Jurgen Klinsmann named his 30-man provisional squad on Monday from which he`ll select his 23-player World Cup finals squad.

The most notable omission is DC United forward Eddie Johnson, a regular in the United States` qualifying campaign in North and Central America who has experienced a dip in form.

The United States is drawn in Group G along with Ghana, who reached the quarter-finals in the 2010 edition, Euro 2012 semi-finalists Portugal and one of the favourites for the trophy Germany. They will kick off their campaign on June 16 against Ghana.

The 30 players will gather in Palo Alto, California, on Wednesday for a training camp at Stanford University, with the final 23-man squad to be decided by June 2.

The group includes such stalwarts as goalkeepers Tim Howard and Brad Guzan, defenders Matt Besler, Geoff Cameron and Omar Gonzalez, midfielders Michael Bradley, Landon Donovan and Graham Zusi, and forwards Clint Dempsey and Jozy Altidore.

Klinsmann also included a few players who are hoping to impress in training camp, including forward Terrence Boyd of Rapid Vienna.

Klinsmann said he`ll be looking hard at current form in making his final decisions as well as how players compete in training camp.

"There is competition in every position, and these next couple of weeks will allow us to make the final determinations on the best 23-man unit to represent the United States in the World Cup," said the German, who guided his home country to the semi-finals in the 2006 renewal which was hosted by Germany.

Prior to departing for Brazil, the team will play three warmup friendlies, taking on Azerbaijan on May 27 at Candlestick Park in San Francisco, Turkey on June 1 in Harrison, New Jersey and Nigeria in Jacksonville, Florida, on June 7.
Provisional US World Cup squad:

Goalkeepers (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/ENG), Tim Howard (Everton/ENG), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders (11): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla/MEX), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin/GER), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/ENG), Timmy Chandler (Nurnberg/GER), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim/GER), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Midfielders (10): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/FRA), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg/NOR), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich/GER), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas/TUR), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards (6): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland/ENG), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna/AUT), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar/NED), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link