Majestic Nelson Mendala led a South African bidding team to successfully win the rights to host the 2010 FIFA World Cup in Africa. Spain, riding on their golden generation of players, won the tournament for the first time and become the newest nation to lift the coveted trophy.

In the final, Andreas Iniesta scored in the 116th minute of the extra-time to defeat the Netherlands in Johannesburg. Spain started the campaign losing to Switzerland by a solitary goal, thus making them the first team to win the tournament after losing the opening match.

But wins over Honduras and Chile steadied the Spanish Armada, winning their group. In the round of 16, they pipped Andulasian neighbours Portugal by a solitary goal, scored by David Villa in the second-half. Villa once again rescued Vicente del Bosque's side in the quarters against Paraguay.

Their old war-horse, Carles Puyol scored the solitary goal against Germany to help his side enter the final after 60 years.

The final match will also be remembered for the numbers fouls committed during the match. A record 14 yellow cards were dished out by the English referee Howard Webb. But the ugliest part of the match was reserved for the Dutch defender John Heitinga, who was sent-off after a second yellow card.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link