Ali Sher, Shaaban Hussin lead their teams to victory

New Delhi: PGTI member Ali Sher and Malaysian professional Shaaban Hussin led their respective teams to victory in the Pro-Am event of the SAIL-SBI Open 2013 Golf, here on Sunday.

In the morning session, Ali guided his team to win with a score of -21. Ali`s team comprised of amateurs Geeta Rai, Veera Singh, Poonam Chawla and Gandhrav Kohli.

PGTI member Vijay Kumar`s team was second with a score of -20. Vijay`s team comprised of amateurs R Kumar, Vishal Chaudhry, Didharth Chaudhry and Amita Jalta.

Another PGTI member, Mukesh Kumar`s team comprising of amateurs P K Misra, Rajiv Mehrishi, Vinod Mishra and Vipin Malik finished third. Their team score was -20. Mukesh Kumar`s team lost out to Vijay Kumar`s team on the basis of a countback.

In the afternoon session, Hussin led his team to victory with a score of -24. Hussin`s team comprised of amateurs Dinkar Makla, Nikhil Kumar, Prashant Jain and Anshul.

PGTI member Ashok Kumar`s team finished second with a score of -22. His team comprised of amateurs J S Naurath, M D Sinha, Kulvinder Singh and Vishal Bakshi.

PGTI member Vinod Kumar`s team comprising of amateurs Manu Rajan, Tuhin Verma, S K Sood and Nirbhay Sharma finished third. Their team score was -20.

The event provided amateur golfers from the capital an opportunity to tee-off alongside some of the top professionals in Asia.

The Pro-Am was played in the modified scramble format where the team`s best net score on each hole was counted towards the team score.