Bhullar wins Aircel PGTI Players Championship

Chandigarh: Rising golfer Gaganjeet Bhullar brought home a brilliant card of four-under 68 in the final round to emerge victories in the Aircel PGTI Players Championship here on Saturday.

The Kapurthala golfer totaled 11-under 277 to bag his fourth title of the year and make it three wins from four starts on the Aircel PGTI in 2011.

Vijay Kumar of Lucknow, Delhi`s Chiragh Kumar and Kolkata golfer Shankar Das ended up in a three-way tie for second place at nine-under 279.

Local favourite Jeev Milkha Singh (71-70-69-70) who produced four birdies and two bogeys in the final round finished a further stroke behind in fifth at the Chandigarh Golf Club here.

The 22-year-old Bhullar (67-70-72-68) was even par for the day with two birdies and two bogeys till the eighth but he turned it on with the putter from the ninth hole onwards.

He sank a 15 feet birdie putt on the ninth and a 20-footer for birdie on the 11th. A good chip-putt from the edge earned him a birdie on the 13th. Bhullar picked up his final birdie of the day on the 17th where he sank a spectacular 35 feet putt.

Bhullar now has 12 professional titles to his credit which include nine on the Aircel PGTI. He took home a cheque worth Rs. 646,600 from his win and continues to lead the Rolex Rankings for 2011.

"I sank some long putts on the back nine today and that turned the tide in my favour. The key moment today was the 20 feet birdie putt on the 11th. The situation changed from there on. I rank this win right up there since the competition was very tough with a lot of contenders. One also had to negotiate the windy conditions," said Bhullar.

Vijay (69-70-73-67) was looking good for a shot at the title after he took the lead with an eagle-two on the 10th. He was five-under for the day at that stage and collected another birdie on the 13th. But his challenge faded away with the bogey on the 14th and a few other missed chances.

Chiragh (68-71-72-68) and Shankar (69-68-71-71) joined Vijay in tied second place. Chiragh`s final round was punctuated by an eagle, three birdies and a bogey while Shankar, the joint overnight leader, made four birdies and three bogeys.

Defending champion Mukesh Kumar and Himmat Singh Rai, the other joint overnight leader, finished tied sixth place, while SSP Chowrasia finished in 10th palce at three-under 285.

Noida`s Rahul Bajaj won the trophy for the best amateur score as he was the lone amateur to make the cut. He totaled 18-over 306 and finished 51st.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link