Golf NCR Cup from tomorrow

New Delhi: Around 75 golfers from India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Nepal, Korea and Portugal will compete in the Toyota seventh NCR Cup amateur golf championship, here from Tuesday.

While the tournament will be played in stroke play format, players will be playing as individuals as well as teams from various countries, states, golf courses and organisations.

The team championship winner will be declared after the first two days of play. The cut will also be applied after the first two rounds and the field will be reduced to 45 players who will vie for the title on Thursday and Friday over 36 holes.

The winner and runner up of the NCR Cup will be sent to play in one of the National Amateur Championships of European region.

Udayan Mane from Bangalore, Chandigarh`s Angad Cheema, winner of All-India Amateur Championship 2011, Kapurthala`s Ashbeer Singh Saini and Delhi`s Honey Baisoya will present the local challenge.

Thangaraja Nadaraja and Sisira Kumara George Patrick from Sri Lanka, Joao Ramos and Pierre Rolland from Portugal, Bikash Bogati and Dinesh Prajapati from Nepal, Rio from Korea and Syed Shoaib Bokhari along with Abbas Ali Khan from Pakistan will also feature in the event.