Jeev made member of Royal Tropy Players` Committee

Bandar Seri Begawan (Brunei): Seasoned Indian golfer Jeev Milkha Singh has been made member of an expanded Royal Trophy Players` Committee, which comprises six-time Major winner Sir Nick Faldo and former world number one Ian Woosnam among others.

The committee, which also features two-time Masters champion Jose Maria Olazabal and Ryder Cup player Paul McGinley, has been expanded to include an additional three members from the Asian region.

"We are very pleased to confirm that the Royal Trophy Players` Committee will now feature an European and an Asian Division. Japanese golfing legend Isao Aoki has been nominated Chairman of the Asian Players` Committee with four-time Asian Team Captain Naomichi `Joe` Ozaki and three-time Asian Team member Jeev Milkha Singh being appointed as inaugural members," stated Lincoln Venancio, the Royal Trophy Managing Director.

"Three additional positions have been reserved for appointments to the Asian Players` Committee later this year; one for a member from China, a second for a member from Korea and a final position is presently under consideration," added Lincoln Venancio," he added.

The Royal Trophy Players` Committee holds the responsibility of steering the Championship into the future and directing the competition towards the core objectives of honoring the legacy of the late legendary Seve Ballesteros - the visionary of the Competition who passed away in May of 2011 following a battle against brain cancer.

The five inaugural editions of the Royal Trophy were

played in the Kingdom of Thailand with Asia recording a historic first-ever victory in 2009; Sweden`s Henrik Stenson securing victory for Europe on the 18th green of the final singles match of an extremely closely fought contest in 2010 and Colin Montgomerie leading the Europeans to a dramatic recovery on the final day of matches in 2011.

The next edition of the Royal Trophy will be held here from December 14-16 at The Empire Hotel & Country Club in the Sultanate of Brunei.

The matches will be held as a tribute to the late Seve Ballesteros and the European and Asian Teams will be captained respectively by Jose Maria Olazabal and Naomichi `Joe` Ozaki. Eight-time European Tour Order of Merit winner Colin Montgomerie is the first player nominated by Olazabal for the European defense of the Trophy.

The event will be immediately preceded by the 2012 Asia Pacific Golf Summit. The Summit will feature eight-time European Tour Order of Merit champion Colin Montgomerie as Key Note Speaker - with past main participants including Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Peter Thompson, Greg Norman, Annika Sorenstam, Tony Jacklin and Robert Trent Jones II.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link