Kaymer wins PGA golf Championship

Last Updated: Aug 16, 2010, 08:35 AM IST

Sheboygan: Germany`s Martin Kaymer beat American Bubba Watson in a playoff to win the 92nd PGA Championship after a controversial penalty prevented Dustin Johnson from joining them.

Northern Ireland`s Rory McIlroy and American Zach Johnson shared third, missing the three-hole playoff by one shot.

Dustin Johnson appeared to be set to join Watson and Kaymer in the playoff but the American was slapped with a two-stroke penalty immediately after his round finished for grounding his club in a bunker on the 18th hole.

Kaymer made a two-foot bogey putt on the final hole of the playoff to win his first major championship.

Kaymer joins US Open winner Graeme McDowell and British Open champion Louis Oosthuizen as first-time major winners this season. Six of the past seven major champions have been first-time major winners.

In the playoff, Kaymer and Watson exchanged birdies on the first two holes before Watson got into trouble on the final hole, the par-four 18.

His approach landed in the water and his next shot sailed over the green. Watson chipped onto the green and even hit the flag stick, but it was too little too late as he had to settle for a double-bogey six.

That left Kaymer with two putts to close it out and collect his second victory of 2010. The 25-year-old from Mettmann won the Abu Dhabi Golf Championship earlier this year on the European Tour.

Bureau Report