Rory McIlroy holds on to win British Open

AFP| Last Updated: Jul 20, 2014, 23:37 PM IST

Liverpool: Northern Ireland`s Rory McIlroy held on to win the British Open for the first time on Sunday after he held off American Rickie Fowler and Sergio Garcia of Spain by two strokes.

Despite seeing his six shot overnight lead slashed to two with five holes to play, he held his nerve to add the Open to his previous major victories at the 2011 US Open and 2012 PGA Championship.

The Ulsterman becomes only the third player, alongside Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods to win three of the four majors, by the age of 25.

On top of that, he now just needs the Masters title to join an elite club of five players in the Open era - Nicklaus, Woods, Gene Sarazen, Ben Hogan and Gary Player - to complete a Grand Slam set of all four majors.

He is the third player from Northern Ireland to win the British Open after Fred Daly did it at Royal Liverpool in 1947 and Darren Clarke in 2011 at Royal St. Georges.