Season-opening junior tourney from tomorrow

New Delhi: Top junior golfers such as Honey Baisoya and Shubhankar Sharma will vie for top honours at the USHA IGU Delhi Juniors, the season-opening junior golf tournament, starting from Tuesday.

Around 96 golfers in Category A (Age group 15-17) and Category B (Age group 13-14) will participate, out of which 50 from the IGU`s order of merit list and rest through an open registration will vie for the title.

The tournament will be played in stroke play format and the cut will be applied after 36 holes on Wednesday at the Army Golf Club (AEPTA). There will be an overall winner declared apart from the winners in different A and B categories.

In Category A, the no. 1 junior of the country Syed Saqib Ahmed will be out of action while two of last season`s winners Delhi’s Honey Baisoya and Shubhankar Sharma will be looking to begin their year by clinching the title.

Other top four players including Patna`s Aman Raj, Delhi`s Abhishek Kuhar, Manpreet Mann and Manu Gandas will also be in the fray to give a strong challenge.

In category B, Delhi`s Piyush Sanghwan who won two tournaments on the IGU circuit last year will try to remain as no. 1 in his category by winning the tournament.

Kolkata`s Viraj Madappa, currently no. 2 on the IGU’s Order of Merit, Jaipur’s Prakhar Asawa and Chandigarh’s Feroz Grewal will also be eager to add their names in the trophy as well.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link