Shubhankar wins Western India Juniors

Mumbai: Shubhankar Sharma of ITC Classic Golf Resort clinched his second junior championship by winning the Toyota-IGU Western India Juniors title at the Bombay Presidency Golf Club, here on Friday.

Playing in the Under-18 age group, Sharma carded one-over 71 in the final round of the tournament to defeat Viraj Madappa of Tollygunge Club by two strokes at the par 70 course.

Madappa carded a level par 70 in the deciding round to reach to 283 (69-73-71-70), whereas Sharma`s final score was 281 (69-68-73-71).

Just a stroke behind Madappa was Manu Gandas of DLF Golf and Country Club, whose final score was 284 (68-75-72-69).

In the Under-14 age group, overnight leader Piyush Sangwan of DLF Golf and Country club, won by a big margin of eight strokes as he carded 290 (75-71-73-71).

Second in this age group was Tanvir Kahlon of Airforce Golf Course, Delhi who carded 298 (75-77-73-73), followed by Ritwik Jain (Army Golf Course, Delhi) who hit 306 (79-79-69-79).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link