Smriti is Women`s Professional Golf Player of the Year

New Delhi: Smriti Mehra, India`s most successful golfer on the domestic Women`s Professional Golf Tour, has been adjudged the Player of the Year at an award function for 2011-12 season.

Smriti, one of the doyens of Women`s Professional Golf in India, and part of the team that helped stabilise the women`s pro tour, took part in each of the 15 events and went on to win seven of them.

She also finished second in four others to cap a wonderful season that won her Rs. 8,07,100 and finished way ahead of Nalini Singh Siwach, Nalini won three to end on second place on the Merit list for the second year in a row.

The only other multiple winner during the season was Sharmila Nicollet, who won two events in 10 starts.

Neha Tripathi, Saaniya Sharma and Pallavi Jain won one title each during the season. There were also two amateur winners, Aditi Ashok and Vani Kapoor, but the professional finishing next best were adjudged the pro winners.

"Smriti has been a great ambassador for WGAI. Not only has she been outstanding on the golf course, but her inputs, efforts and ideas have helped build the Hero Women`s Pro Tour into a big success over the last few years. She is a true champion and an inspiration for the new generation of women professional golfers in India," Kavita Singh, President of the WGAI, said.

Nalini, who was second for the second successive year, was the champion Putter of the year. Her success on the greens helped her win three events besides numerous other good results and a total earnings of Rs. 7,17,400.

Ankita Tiwana, who joined the pro circuit for the first time in 2011-12 emerged as the Rookie of the Year. Though she did not win any events, she was very consistent and improved as the season went along. She finished sixth on money list.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link