Strong Bangalore teams to defend National Club title

Gurgaon: Defending Champions Syed Saqib Ahmed and Rahul Ravi from Bangalore will return to take on top junior club teams from across the country at the Toyota Inter Club Juniors at the Golden Greens Golf Resort on Wednesday.

Saqib and Rahul are currently ranked second and fourth in the Category A order of merit for 2010-11. KGA`s 2nd team of IGU Junior Player of the Year 2010, Trishul Chinappa and third ranked amateur golfer Khalin Joshi are equally strong.

The first leg of 2011 edition of the Toyota Etios Junior and Sub-Junior Golf Tour begins with the Inter Club Golf Championships tomorrow.

The format of the event will be 36 holes stroke-play. The two-day event will see a total of 15 top clubs from all over India vying for the top honours in this IGU categorized elite club event for the Junior golfers.

The Inter Club Golf Championships will have a total of 100 golfers representing 15 clubs, including the Delhi Golf Club, The DLF Golf & Country Club, Karnataka Golf Association, Bangalore Golf Club, Bombay Presidency Golf Club and the Royal Calcutta Golf Club.

The Delhi Golf Club has confirmed nine teams for the tournament. The prominent names to feature from the club would include third ranked Meher Atwal (Junior Girls; Category A) and Honey Baisoya (Junior Boys; Category B) and top ranked
Kshitij Kaul (Junior Boy; Category D).

Ranked 10th in the Category A of the Junior Boys – Manu Gandas along with the very talented and fourth ranked ladies golfer Vani Kapoor and Astha Madan who is currently ranked fourth in category B of the Junior Girls, would represent DLF Golf and Country Club and would stage a tough competition for the playing field.

Aditi Ashok and Kelly Rao will be the lone team representing the Bangalore Golf Club. Aditi who is currently ranked second in Junior Girls Category A is the youngest to have represented India in the recently concluded Queen Sirikit Cup. Aditi`s partner Kelly Rao is currently placed seventh in Junior Boys Category B Order of Merit.

The duo of Samrat Basu and Lakshey Nagar will be representing the Royal Calcutta Golf Club. Bombay Presidency Golf club will feature two teams. The ones to watch out for will be the duo of Akash Modi and Prav Kuchroo.

As per the IGU norms `A` & `B` Category boys will tee off from the men’s championship tee and `A` & `B` category girls and `C` category boys will play from the men`s regular tee.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link