Sujjan Singh lifts trophy, Himmat finishes runner-

Pune: Sujjan Singh won the PGTI Players
Championship after carding a three-under 72 in the final
round, pipping the overnight joint leader Himmat Singh Rai by
one stroke on Friday.

Sujjan, a Chandigarh golfer, ended the week with 11
under 277 total at Oxford Golf and Country Club and bagged his
second professional title.

Sujjan began the day with a birdie putt from six feet on
the first to go one ahead. Himmat then caught up with a birdie
on the second. Sujjan earned his second birdie with another
six feet putt on the eighth.

Both the players birdied the 11th before Himmat suffered
a couple of setbacks due to bogeys on the 12th and 13th.

Himmat then posed a serious challenge to Sujjan by picking up
an eagle on the 16th where he sank a 50 feet putt to reduce
the margin to one stroke.

Sujjan was in some trouble on the last hole after he
found the rough with his tee shot even as Himmat landed it on
the fairway.

However, Sujjan produced an extraordinary eight-iron
second shot from the rough that landed just 10 feet from the
pin and all but sealed it for him.

The two players made pars on the last hole and as a
result Sujjan Singh took home the winner`s trophy.

He remained the only player in the tournament to have not
shot a single over par score through the week.

The 30-year-old climbed from 41st place to 14th position
on the Rolex Rankings after his win on Friday.

"I played a very steady round today. Importantly, I made
no bogeys in the last two rounds. My hitting was immaculate
and I hit as many as 16 greens today. I had some anxious
moments towards the end after Himmat closed the gap with an
eagle on the 16th. But I played well under pressure to close
it out," Sujjan said after the win.

Mandeo Singh Pathania (76-71-68-68) secured third place
at five under 283. Pathania`s 68 was the best score of the day
along with Kapil Kumar`s 68.

Vijay Kumar, Kunal Bhasin, Mukesh Kumar and Raju Ali
Mollah were joint fourth at three under 285.

Aditya Bhandarkar of Pune, the lone amateur to make the
cut, won the trophy for the best amateur score. Bhandarkar
finished tied 45th at 14 over 302.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link