Top amateurs in action at 32nd PSPB Inter-Unit golf meet

Bangalore: The cream of Indian amateur golfing circuit converged on a single platform to show their wares as the 32nd PSPB Inter-Unit Golf Tournament teed off at the par-72 Eagleton Golf Resort.

This year`s event is being hosted by premier national E&P company - Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited.

The four-day meet, which is also the most prestigious event on the Indian Golf Union`s amateur calendar, began with a one-day stableford event, which will be followed by the two-day main event, to be played on a strokeplay format.

Each team comprises of a minimum of three and a maximum of five members. The three best scores will count towards the team`s day total and the two-day aggregate will decide the team championship.

An individual strokeplay competition will further add to the excitement. In addition to the `Team` and `Individual` competition, there will be a separate competition for teams in the `Handicap category`, while other interesting `Skills` competitions like `Long Driving` and `Closest-to-the-pin` and many more will ensure all the participants are kept enthused.

Defending champions OIL India Limited `A`, is being spearheaded by the in-form Chikkarangappa, the current leader on the IGU Order of Merit list, Ashbeer Saini, Manav Das, Abhijeet Chadha and Rahul Bajaj.

The other players to watch out for include the likes of Khalin Joshi (GAIL), Angad Cheema (ONGC), Gagan Verma (IOCL) and three-time Sri Lankan Amateur Open winner Simarjeet Singh.

The lone woman participant is India`s leading amateur, Gowri Monga, representing GAIL.

Meanwhile, the team of Aditya Bhandarkar (Oil India) and Karan Taunk (ONGC) pipped the duo of Amit Nigam (BPCL) and Amandeep Bath (IOCL) on a countback to win the Stableford competition.

Both the teams had logged 46 stableford points each.