Hockey India announces senior women's team for Argentina tour

India will be led by experienced campaigner Ritu Rani.

PTI| Updated: Nov 07, 2015, 21:14 PM IST
Hockey India announces senior women's team for Argentina tour

Bhubaneswar: Hockey India on Saturday announced an 18-member Indian senior women's team for the international matches to be played in Argentina from November 18 30.

The squad announced during the on-going national camp here will be led by experienced campaigner Ritu Rani. Deepika has been named vice-captain of the team.

The Indian women's team has been on a high this year, winning the second round of the Hockey World League earlier this year in Delhi. The team gained fifth position in the Hockey World League Round 3 by virtue of which they qualified for Rio Olympics for the first time in 36 years.

"The team has been practicing together since the camp started. We believe in putting emphasis on team work and the new team of coaches and support staff are working hard to increase the work rate of each player," chief coach of Indian women's hockey team Neil Andrew Hawgood said.

"We have an experienced captain and she knows how to lead by example. The qualifications for the Olympics have been a boost and we will be playing in similar conditions to that of Rio which will give us advantage in our Olympic campaign. I have full faith in the girls and I hope we will put up a good show together," said Hawgood.

Hockey India President Narinder Dhruv Batra said, "The girls have showcased what they are capable of with their recent achievements. Qualifying for the Olympics for the first time in 36 years is by itself a huge testimony to their hunger to succeed and capabilities. I am hopeful that we are up for some exciting results in the months to come." 

The Squad: 

Goalkeepers: Savita, Rajani Etimarpu 

Defenders: Sunita Lakra, Deepika (vice-captain), Susila Chanu Pukhrmbam, Jaspreet Kaur, Deep Grace Ekka 

Midfielders: Renuka Yadav, Ritu Rani (captain), Lilima Minz, Navjot Kaur, Monika, Namita Toppo 

Forwards: Navneet Kaur, Rani, Poonam Rani, Vandana Kataria, Anuradha Devi Thokchom.