Hughes loses his place in Australia`s selection panel

Last Updated: Oct 29, 2010, 14:17 PM IST

Melbourne: Cricket Australia on Friday axed former fast bowler Merv Hughes from its national selection panel, which has been reduced to a four-member body.

The decision was taken at Cricket Australia`s Board of Directors meeting here.

Chairman Andrew Hilditch, David Boon, Greg Chappell and Jamie Cox will continue in the panel.

"During today`s meeting in Melbourne, the Board reaffirmed its belief that four selectors was the most appropriate size for the NSP especially now that Australian cricket has a full-time National Talent Manager (Chappell).”

"After feedback from NSP Chairman Andrew Hilditch during today`s meeting, the Board unanimously decided that David Boon, Jamie Cox and Greg Chappell were the best people to join him on the four-member NSP," Cricket Australia CEO James Sutherland said in a statement.

"Andrew was clear in his assessment that Merv had been a good selector and a strong contributor around the selection table, but that Cox, Boon and Chappell were the better options to continue on the NSP.”

"Unfortunately this means that Merv is no longer a member of the NSP. Merv has provided valuable input and expertise to the NSP during the past five years and Cricket Australia thanks him for his contribution during this time," the release added.