ICC CEC to discuss FTP, DRS on Monday

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2010, 13:13 PM IST

Cape Town: The Future Tours Programme from the year 2012 to 2020 and the controversial Decision Review System will top the agenda when the ICC Chief Executives` Committee meets here on Monday.

"The ICC Chief Executives` Committee (CEC) will convene in Cape Town tomorrow for the third of its four meetings in 2010," the ICC said in a statement.

The CEC, to be chaired by ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat, will consider a proposal from its working group on "introducing context for international cricket" with the view to confirming the FTP from 2012 to 2020.

"The proposal will include the possibility of Test and ODI leagues as well as that of a Test play-off," the ICC said.

The CEC working group, comprising David Collier (England and Wales), Nishantha Rantaguna (Sri Lanka), N Srinivasan (India), James Sutherland (Australia) and David Richardson (ICC General Manager Cricket), has considered issues including submissions from the Associate and Affiliate Members and held a joint meeting with the Governance Review group.

The CEC working group has also taken into account market research data collected from South Africa, England, India, Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh which indicates a need for context and content to be introduced into international cricket.

"The group also studied the present funding arrangements for the FTP as well as ICC and Members` commercial contractual obligations."

The CEC will also receive updates on the promotion of international cricket and progress on the development of the ICC Strategic Plan 2011-2015.

"There will also be further updates on the implementation of the Decision Review System (DRS)," the ICC said.

The DRS has drawn mixed response so far with some Board`s welcoming while others such as the powerful BCCI opposing its implementation.

The CEC comprises the chief executives of the 10 Test-playing Members and three representatives from the ICC Associate and Affiliate Members. The Chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Clive Lloyd will also be in attendance.

But ICC President Sharad Pawar will not be attending the meeting.