Indian hockey team: Profile 2012 London Olympics

Updated: Jul 17, 2012, 14:39 PM IST

Zeenews Sports Bureau

Event: Field hockey

No. Of Medals: 11 (8 gold, 1 Silver, 2 Bronze)

Captain: Bharat Chetri

Hockey is one sport where India has a rich and glorious history at the Olympics. For 28 years, Indian hockey team at the biggest sports carnival was unbeatable.

Hockey has earned India a total of 11 Olympic medals. This includes eight gold, one silver and two bronze medals and the last of those, a gold medal, came way back in 1980 at Moscow Games.

Led by Bharat Chetri and under the guidance of coach Michael Nobbs, the Indian squad will be eager to put up a good show at the Games and revive golden memories of the past.

India qualified for the London Olympics during the men`s Olympic Qualifiers in New Delhi earlier this year by defeating France in the final.

The team recently clinched bronze medal at the Sultan Azlan Shah hockey tournament defeating Great Britain 3-1.

Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri (captain) and P.R. Sreejesh

Defenders: V.R.Raghunath, Ignace Tirkey, Sandeep Singh

Midfielders: Sardar Singh (vice captain), Kothajit Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Birendra Lakra, Manpreet Singh

Forwards: S.V. Sunil, Gurwinder Singh Chandi, Sarvanjit Singh, Shivendra Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Tushar Khandker, Dharamvir Singh, S.K. Uthappa