Chinese Grand Prix: Nico Rosberg records first win as Schumacher retires

Zeenews Sports Bureau

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg claimed his first Formula One win of his career on Sunday, finishing the Chinese Grand Prix ahead of McLaren’s Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton.

It took Rosberg, son of Finland`s 1982 world champion Keke, 111 attempts to claim his place on the podium.

However, Rosberg's teammate Michael Schumacher was forced to retire early in the race following a mistake in the pitstop.

The seven-time F1 world champion was given a go ahead before attaching the front right tyre properly in his first pitstop of the race.

"The front wheel got a bit loose, but I don't know what happened. I feel a bit sorry for one of my boys, but that's part of the game. Fingers crossed that Nico can get a good result for the team," said Schumacher after the incident.

Britain's Jenson Button finished a distant second for Mercedes-powered McLaren, 20.6 seconds behind, with team mate and compatriot Lewis Hamilton third for the third race in a row to take the championship lead.

Hamilton now has 45 points after three races to Button's 43. Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, who had led before Shanghai, finished ninth and dropped to third overall with 37.

Rosberg's victory was the first by Mercedes, as a works team, since 1955, when Argentine Juan Manuel Fangio won that year's season-ending Italian Grand Prix from pole.

Mercedes pulled out of Formula One as a works team in 1955 and did not return, other than as an engine partner, until 2010 after buying the title-winning Brawn team.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link