Grand double for Ameya Walavalkar

Coimbatore: Favourite Ameya Walavalkar of
Mumbai found his winning ways to grab a worthy double-win in
the Formula Swift category event of the 14th JK Tyre National
Road Racing championship at the Kari Motor Speedway on Sunday.

Mumbai`s Rahil Noorani grabbed the limelight winning the
first race of the Volkswagen Polo Cup, while Vishnu Prasad,
who won both the races in the first leg last month, claimed
honours in the second race today before a good holiday crowd.

In Super Saloon cars category, industrialist and veteran
driver B Vijayakumar made good use of a swift start ahead of
Radha Selvaran to win the event, while Chennai`s Baja Vijay,
who finished first in the IJTC Cup events yesterday and today
was stripped off points in both races held on Saturday and Sunday
by Stewards for "technical infringement".

This helped drivers who finished second, third and fourth
yesterday and today to finish on podium in that order in two
races held in the second leg. Kerala`s Dilith T Shaji (LCT
Singaram), S Narendran (IPL Power Pak) and Jai Prashanth
Venkat (LCT Singaram) were declared top three winners.

The lone Formula event held on the reverse grid rule or
top four positions on pole saw a stiff fight. Drivers swapped
the leader spot for almost each lap of the ten-lapper with 21
cars in the fray.

Ameya, starting at fifth, moved up a spot and tried his
best to pass others, but failed. TVS Girling`s Karthik Krishna
led the field from second to seventh lap. Ameya with a better
powered car got to the left of slipstreaming cars in front and
attacked from an outer line.

Winner of the first race on Saturday, Ameya got past
Wallace Sports Goutham Parekh in the eighth lap and then held
on to win the race by fractions of seconds from Goutham
Parekh, who finished runner-up. Karthik Krishna settled for
third spot.

Deepak Ravi Kumar,who won both races in the first round
last month and finished runner-up yesterday, gradually made up
from sixth on grid to finish fourth for 10 points to lead the
table with 80 points. Karthik Krishna has tallied 51 to be in
second spot, while Ameya is on 50 with two wins for third

In Super Saloon event, T R Radha Sevlarajan is leading
the points table with 86 followed by Rajvirudhan (63) and B
Vijay Kumar (60 pts).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link