This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Indian national rally comes to Kolkata after 10 years

Kolkata: Top guns of Indian rallying will return to the city after a gap of 10 years for the Speed Rally
de Kolkata to be held here from September 18-20.

A resurgent Team MRF, who swept the top three positions
at K-1000, and Red Rooster Racing, led by defending champion
Vikram Mathias and local hero Amittrajit Ghosh, will renew
their battle as the Indian National Rally Championship turns
East in the third of the six rounds.

The total distance of the rally will be 560.2 km,
including the super special stage (SSS).

The Kolkata round will consist of two special stages --
at Durgapur, about 165 kms from here and the SSS to be held at
Jadavpur-Santoshpur Stadium here.

The 1.8-km special stretch will be a platform for the
drivers to showcase their talent, Annabelle Manwaring,
managing director of Pro-Sports Promotion said in a press
conference here today.

While the three special stages to be run twice would
cover a distance of 113.16 km, the transport section 411.68
kms and SSS 35 km.

With a spectacular table jump, water spot, tight corners,
fast corners and exciting dips the SSS of 1.8 km is expected
to bring the rally to a thrilling close for the champagne
shower ceremony.

Current champions Red Rooster Racing with drivers Vikram
Mathias and Amittrajit Ghosh at the helm will run two cars and
will meet their challenge in former champions Team MRF.

Gaurav Gill and co driver Musa Shareef, K-1000 winners
Arjun Balu and Sujith Kumar, Lohit Urs and Chandramouli, who
won the Malaysian Rally Championship last month and Arjun Rao
Aroor, the current championship leader along with co-driver
Satish Rajagopal will shoulder the MRF challenge in four
Cedias in the 2000 N+ category.

Team DDL Sports with five entries, Team Thunderbolt with
another five and Chettinad Sporting are the other teams in the

The entries were restricted to 50 and will be accepted on
first come, first serve basis.

The top class 2000cc N+ has eight entries including a

Sponsored by Bharat Petroleum, Speed, Rally de Kolkata is
organised by Ramakrishna Race Performance Management under the
aegis of Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) and
is promoted by Pro-Sports Promotion (PSP) and IMG Sports.

Bureau Report

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions