Round 3 of JK Tyre National Racing championship on Aug 28

Coimbatore: The battle for supremacy for India`s most prestigious motorsport title will gain momentum when the third round of the 13th JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship begins here on August 28.

Participants will fight it out for over two days at Kari Motor Speedway on the outskirts of the city with three races - one each in Formula Rolon, Formula Swift and Super Saloons being held on the first day and the remaining five, including two in the Polo class the next day.

Racers at the Volkswagen Polo Cup put on a strong display in the earlier two rounds. The re-launched Formula Rolon category, which was held for a single race due to technical glitches, is now all set to rule the grid in Round 3.

The most striking aspect of this year was that outstation drivers have taken pole position from Chennai drivers who were ruling the roost until last year.

The Polo Cup has also thrown open the field among the top three drivers with Delhi`s Karthik Shankar is sitting on top with 94 points and Vishnu Prasad on second with 87 points. Sailesh Bolisetti of Vizag, who had won the first two of the four races so far is in third spot with 77 points.

In the Formula Swift category, races would again witness keen tussle between the leading drivers, with Bangalore`s Ajay Kini making the podium on all three races earlier with a win in the last race for a tally of 32 points.

Mumbai`s Ameya Walavalkar of TVS Girling is second with 25 points, while Kini`s teammate from Wallace Sports, Goutham Parekh (Chennai) is on 24 points. Among 20 drivers representing five teams include Mars Racing, Aerodyne Race Krafts and Meco Racing.

With the issues in Formula Rolon LGB vehicles having been sorted out, Sarosh Hataria, a Chennai based driver, is leading the fray, the lone experienced driver among 14 competitors and is followed by Vikas Anand (8 points) of VARAD Racing and Mohites Racing driver Chittesh Mandody with six points.

Super Saloons would witness tougher competition for all positions. B Vijay Kumar (Prime Racing), also a constructor of Formula Cars, is an old hand, competing in Saloon cars from the late 70s, who will try and use the home track advantage to improve on his third spot (24 points) ahead of second placed G Siddarth Kishore of Performance Racing, who has 25 points.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link