Vettel crowned World champion, Jaypee gets Promotional Trophy

New Delhi: German driver Sebastian Vettel was awarded the World Champion trophy for the second consecutive year, while Sameer Gaur of Jaypee Sports International (JPSI) received the Formula One Promotional Trophy for hosting a successful inaugural Indian Grand Prix at a glittering FIA Prize Giving Gala ceremony in New Delhi.

The Red Bull driver collected the coveted World Champion trophy from FIA President Jean Todt, while Team Principal Christian Horner was presented with the 2011 Constructors` Trophy by Bernie Ecclestone.

Jenson Button and Mark Webber also received awards for second and third place finishes, respectively in the Drivers` Championship.

"It`s great to be here in India at the FIA Gala to collect my second Drivers` Championship Trophy," said Vettel.

"I have had the trophy in my house all year and didn`t want to give it back, so this means a great deal to me. It`s hard to put into words how it feels to win again; the team stayed focused and made few mistakes and I would like to thank them for all their impressive efforts.

"I would also like to thank Renault who worked so hard all year. The history of Formula One means a lot to me and it`s special to know that we are now somehow a part of that," he added.

Vettel famously never led the 2010 Championship until the last day of the season. In 2011, he led from the first day to the last and along the way, scored victories in Australia, Malaysia, Turkey, Spain and Monaco, at the European Grand Prix in Valencia, in Belgium, Italy, Singapore, Korea and India.

He only finished off the podium twice during the 19 races, took a record-breaking 15 pole positions and three fastest laps.

Here in India he became the youngest man to record a grand chelem: taking pole, victory, fastest lap and leading every lap of the race.

Jaypee Sports International (JPSI) managing director Sameer Gaur, the Indian Grand Prix promoters, received the Promotional Trophy for their efforts in hosting a new race on the F1 calendar.

Korea was awarded the same trophy for hosting the first race last year and so did Abu Dhabi for 2009.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link