3rd Hockey India National Championships in Pune from May 28

Mumbai: The men`s Senior National Hockey Championship will be held here from May 28 to June 10 in Pune, the Mumbai Hockey Association (MHAL) said on Monday.

The Sub-Junior National Hockey Championship for boys and girls (West Zone) will be held between April 11 and 16.

MHAL President Mangha Singh Bakshi announced this on Monday.

A committee comprising former India captains Viren Rasquinha, Anil Aldrin, Darryl D`Souza, Davinder Kumar, Girish Pimple, Cornelius D`Costa and Edgar Mascarenhas has also been instituted to work towards helping youngsters from Mumbai get selected for India camps besides conducting free and fair trials.

MHAL has given lifetime membership to 13 international players and will extend this gesture for every Mumbai player who represents India in the years to follow. They also announced a set of new initiatives including revival of tournaments like Bombay Gold Cup, Super League and leagues from senior to fourth division, a release from the association said.

"For the first time in history, MHAL will be fielding Mumbai teams for Sub Junior, Junior and Senior Nationals organized by Hockey India Men`s and Women`s discipline," said Bakshi.