Aditi Dhumatkar sets national record in National Aquatic Championships

Maharashtra girl Aditi Dhumatkar set the national record in the women's 100m freestyle to help Maharashtra end Kanataka's 23-year reign and emerge overall champions in the 68th senior National Aquatic Championship that concluded at the Subhas Sarovar on Sunday.

Aditi Dhumatkar sets national record in National Aquatic Championships

Kolkata: Maharashtra girl Aditi Dhumatkar set the national record in the women's 100m freestyle to help Maharashtra end Kanataka's 23-year reign and emerge overall champions in the 68th senior National Aquatic Championship that concluded at the Subhas Sarovar on Sunday.

Aditi grabbed the limelight on the last day when she clocked 58.81 to erase an 11-year-old record held by Shikha Tandon as Maharashtra finished overall champions with 215 points.

Karnataka finished with 175 points.

Maharashtra also clinched the team championship in the women's section with 141 points, while Railways bagged the men's team title with 215.

It was also a memorable day for Services lad Madhu PS who clocked 2:09.28 in the 200m medley en route to becoming Best Swimmer in the men's section with a bountiful of three gold, one silver that included two records.

Gujarat's Maana Patel who clinched three gold, one bronze and set two new records, was adjudged the Best Swimmer in women's section.


Overall Champions: 1 Maharashtra (215 points), 2 Karnataka (175).

Team Championship (swimming): Men: RSPB (175 points); Women: Maharashtra (141 points).

Team Championship (diving): Services (30 points); Women: RSPB (29).

Best Swimmer: Men: Madhu PS (SSCB); Women: Maana Patel (Gujarat).

Best Diver: Men: K Ramananda (SSCB); Women: Simran Rajani (Maha).

Waterpolo: Men: 1 SSCB, 2 RSPB; Women: 1 Kerala, 2 Maharashtra.

Best Waterpolo player: Men: Aneesh Kumar (SSCB); Women: AA Archa (Kerala).

Men: 100m freestyle: 1 Aaron D'Souza (RSPB; 51.19), 2 Anshul Kothari (GUj; 52.47), 3 Neel Contractor (Guj; 52.51).

800m freestyle: 1 Saurabh Sangvekar (Maha; 8:14.65), 2 Sajan Prakash (RSPB; 8:14.76), 3 Sanu Debnath (RSPB; 8:36.53).

200m Medley: 1 Madhu PS (SSCB; 2:09.28), 2 Sandeep Sejwal (RSPB; 2: 11.35) and Arvind M (Kar; 2:11.35).

4x200m freestyle: 1 RSPB (7:56.30), 2 Gujarat (7:56.62), 3 SSCB (8:03. 27).

Women: 100m freestyle: 1 Aditi Dhumatkar (Maha; 58.81 NR), 2 Shivani Kataria (Har; 59.39), 3 Maana Patel (Guj; 1:00.34).

50m butterfly: 1 Jyotsna Pansare (Maha; 29.06), 2 Avantika Chauhan (Maha; 29.78), 3 Shivani Kataria (Har; 29.88).

200m medley: 1 Richa Mishra (Police; 2:26.95), 2 A V Jayveena (TN; 2:28.25), 3 Damini Gowda (Kar; 2:29.32).  

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link