Advani leads way into pre-quarters of National Snooker

Pune: Four-time champion Pankaj Advani swept past veteran Devendra Joshi 4-0 enroute to the pre-quarterfinals of the Manisha-National snooker championship here Thursday.

A break of 75 in the fourth frame highlighted Advani`s victory as he joined defending champion Aditya Mehta, qualifier Brijesh Damani and Siddharth Parikh (Railways) in the knock-out stage.

In the best match of the day, PSPB`s Sourav Kothari overcame Karnataka cueist M. Yogesh Kumar 4-3 after a four-hour tussle that could have gone either way. The decisive moment came when Kothari put in a break of 46 in the deciding seventh frame.

Meanwhile, last year`s runner-up Alok Kumar displayed top form while beating Sunil Kumar and Kamal Chawla, the IBSF World No 3, also won 4-0 as the two set up an enticing pre-quarterfinal match-up.


Round of 32: Aditya Mehta (PSPB) bt Neeraj Kumar (Rlys) 4-1; Sarang Shroff (Mah) bt Rafath Habib (Rlys) 4-3; Pulkit Thukral (Del) bt Lalrina Renthlei (Miz) 4-2; Siddharth Parikh (Rlys) bt Rupesh Shah (PSPB) 4-1; Shivam Arora (Bih) bt Sumit Talwar (Chd) 4-3; Himanshu Jain (AP) bt R Girish (Rlys) 4-1; Pankaj Advani (PSPB) bt Devendra Joshi (PSPB) 4-0; Shahbaaz Adil Khan (PSPB) bt Divya Sharma (Har) 4-0; Brijesh Damani (Ben) bt Dhvaj Haria (Guj) 4-1; Vijay Nichani (TN) bt Durga Prasad (Rlys) 4-1; Manan Chandra (PSPB) bt Rajat Khaneja (Chd) 4-0; Sourav Kothari (PSPB) bt M Yogesh Kumar (Kar) 4-3; IV Rajeev (AP) bt Rovin D`Souza (Mah) 4-0; Lucky Vatnani (AP) bt Shankar Rao (AP) 4-0; Alok Kumar (PSPB) bt Sunil Kumar (AP) 4-0; Kamal Chawla (Rlys) bt Sundeep Gulati (Del) 4-2.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link