Air India beat Indian Oil in Beighton final

Kolkata: Star studded Air India lifted the Coal India 115th Beighton Cup with a 2-1 win over last
year`s winners Indian Oil at SAI artificial turf here on Wednesday.

Air India struck both the goals in the first-half of
final through Birendra Lakra (12th) and Vikram Pillay (34th).

Indian Oil looked to fight back after the changeover as
they reduced the margin through V R Raghunath (48th) but they
were unlucky on a couple of occasions to concede the title to
Air India.

The defending champions began on an attacking note with
India international Prabhjot Singh looking for early inroads.

Indian Oil were awarded two penalty corners early into
the match in the 4th and 8th minutes.

The drag-flick specialist Prabhjot almost converted the
second one but some brilliant work by Air India custodian
Adrian D`Souza denied Indian Oil the lead.

Boasting four players from the Asian Games squad in
Vikram Pillay, Arjun Halappa, Gurbaj Singh and Prabhod Tirkey
who missed the final due to injury, Air India drew the first
blood when Lakra slammed home in the 12th minute.

Before Indian Oil could settle down, the Dhanraj Pillay
coached side banged in the second goal with some fine work by
Vikram Pillay who was adjudged man of the tournament.

In an intense second-half, Indian Oil reduced the margin
after Raghunath converted a penaly corner in the 48th minute.

Indian Oil almost brought the match on an even keel in
the 61st minute from a penalty corner but their specialist
drag-flicker Prabhjot hit the right post much to the relief of
Air India.

Earlier, last year`s runners-up South Central Railway
settled for a third place, defeating Punjab Sports Club 5-1.

Amit Srivas (49th, 53rd), Janardhan Gupta (32nd), Mayank
James (64th) and B Horo (69th) struck in South Central
Railway`s rout of Punjab Sports.

Pawan Bassi struck the solitary goal for the Punjab



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link