Anjum to lead in Asian Women`s Champions Trophy

New Delhi: Striker Saba Anjum will lead a 18-member Indian women`s hockey squad in the second Asian Champions Trophy to be held at Ordos, China from September 3-11.

The squad was named on Tuesday after trials held at Bhopal and attended by Hockey India selectors Col Balbir Singh, B P Govinda, Rekha Bhide and Rajbir Kaur, besides government observer Dilip Tirkey.

The top four teams from the Asian Games held at Guangzhou last year are participating in the competition. Besides India, the other three teams in the tournament are China, South Korea and Japan.

India play South Korea in their first match on September 4 before taking on Japan on September 6 and China on September 8. The final is slated for September 10.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Yogita Bali, Savita.

Defenders: Joydeep Kaur, Jaspreet Kaur, Th Pinki Devi.

Midfielders: Ritu Rani, Asunta Lakra, Kirandeep Kaur, Mukta Prava Barla, Deepika, Kiran Dahiya.

Forwards: Saba Anjum (Captain), Jaspreet Kaur Handa, Poonam Rani, Vandana Kataria, Rani, Th Anuradha Devi, Soundarya Yendala.

Standbys: Rajani Etimarpu (Goalkeeper), Preety Sunila Kiro (Defender), M N Ponnamma (Midfielder), Sushila Chanu (Midfielder), Deep Grace Ekka (Midfielder), Roselin Dung Dung (Forward), Lilima Minz (Forward), Rashmi Singh (Forward).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link