Baisya re-elected as IWLF chief, Chandrahas Rai Secy Gen

Guwahati: Birendra Prasad Baisya was on Saturday re-elected unopposed as president of Indian Weightlifting Federation for his second term during its Annual General Body meeting here.

Baisya, also a Member of Parliament, was the only contestant for the top job.

D Chandrahas Rai of Karnataka was elected as Secretary General in the only contest of the day, defeating Sunil Elangbam of Manipur 27-20 in the voting through secret ballot.

Mahesh Shivdas Lohar of Maharashtra was elected unopposed as the treasurer while Santosh Arun Siwhasane became secretary uncontested.

Returning officer Uddhab Ch Rabha, retired District and Sessions Judge, conducted the polls.

Outgoing secretary general Sahdev Yadav, Abraham Techi, Ratan Lal Sharma, G R Beig, B Venkat Ramaiah, Narayan Sahu, Bhabojyoti Goswami, K Subramanya, Paramjit Singh and G Gunasekaran were the 10 vice-presidents elected unopposed.

The joint secretaries are Jayesh C Nayak, Devesh Ch Roy and Madan Lal Salvi.