Baljit left out of probables for Asian Champions

Bangalore: Goalkeeper Baljit Singh, who made
a comeback to the Indian hockey camp after two years in
wilderness, could not make the core group and was left out of
the 48-strong list of probables for the first Asian Champions
Trophy in September.

The three-day trials to prune the list of probables for
the event concluded at the Sports Authority of India Centre,
here last evening.

Baljit`s selection for the camp had created quite a buzz
about the 29-year-old goalkeeper, who was sidelined after a
golf ball hit his right eye during practice in 2009.

There was fear of him losing vision but corrective
surgeries later, he was back on the field even though he
admitted that the layoff nearly destroyed his composure.

But he could not make the cut for the probables` list.
The rest of the group has no surprises to offer with familiar
faces getting the selectors` nod.

Hockey India Selectors Col. Balbir Singh, BP Govinda,
Thoiba Singh and AB Subbaiah, besides Government Observer
Dilip Tirkey witnessed the trials.

The Asian Champions Trophy is scheduled to be played at
Ordos, China from September 3 to 12 where the first six of the
2010 Guangzhou Asiad shall participate.

The teams are Pakistan, Malaysia, India, South Korea,
Japan and China.

The selection committee shortlisted the 91 campers to the
core group of 48 probables for future tournaments.

The coaching camp had commenced on July 1 and will
conclude on July 31, Hockey India said in a statement.

The second phase of the camp will also be held at
Bengaluru from August 8 till departure to China on August 28
with 18 players.

The Probables:

Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri, Adrian D`Souza, PR Sreejesh,
Kamaldeep Singh.

Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Sandeep Singh, William
Xalxo, VR Raghunath, Harpreet Singh, Gurjinder Singh, Diwakar

Midfielders: Sardar Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Vikram Pillay,
Arjun Halappa, Vikas Sharma, Vikram Kanth, Bharat Chikara,
Danish Mujtaba, Prabodh Tirkey, Vikas Pillay, Birender Lakra
Jr., Ravi Pal, Ignace Tirkey, Manjit Kullu, Kothajit, Manpreet
Singh, Ajitesh Roy.

Forwards: Rajpal Singh, SV Sunil, Tushar Khandker, Amar
Aiyamma, Mandip Antil, Shivendra Singh, Bikas Toppo, Sarvanjit
Singh, Roshan Minz, Nithin Thimmaiah, Prabhdeep Singh, Banmali
Xess, Akashdeep Singh, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Pradhan
Somanna, Prabhjot Singh, Yuvraj Valmiki, Dharamvir Singh,
Chinglinsana, Ramandeep Singh.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link