Barla, Minz steer Orissa into quarterfinals of hockey meet

Pune: Mikhal Barla scored a goal in each half as Orissa powered their way into the quarterfinals with a 8-0 victory against Delhi in Pool D in the 1st Hockey India Junior Men’s National hockey championship on Friday.

Keeping the right flank alive with his speedy forays, Barla, a find of special area scheme, combined well with James Jidan Munda and captain Stanli Victor Minz to leave Delhi defence in tatters in the do-or-die two-team pool encounter.

Karnataka too moved into the quarter finals after winning their second straight match, a 4-1 win against Chhattisgarh in Pool B.

Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy continued to steal the show, thrashing Chandigarh 6-2.

In other matches; Andhra Pradesh thrashed Gujarat 11-2 with Avinash Chindripu scoring five goals in a Pool A match; and Bengal beating Rajasthan 4-1 in Pool C.

Currently training in SAIL Academy, Orissa`s Barla and his skipper Minz, who is resident of Government Hostel for Sports, controlled the right flank with authority to force Delhi keep four defenders in the D, without much success.

It was Minz who began the onslaught when he scored in the seventh minute before David Minz and Barla struck two more as Odisha went into break leading 3-0.

Soon after resumption, Deepak Kullu scooped in to increase the lead before Dilip Toppo and Bikas Kujur added to the misery of Delhi team.

Karnataka captain Thimmanna Puiyanda was in the middle of action, scoring a brace before Biddappa Karieravanda and Mithun Bijwad scored to give Karnataka a deserving win.

In MP Academy`s match against Chandigarh, Vikas Chaudhary, who scored five goals on Thursday, ended up with just one, but set up several moves, of which a few were converted into goals.

Chandigarh went up against the run of play with Gagandeep Singh Mann putting them ahead in the very first minute of the match.

Chaudhary found an equalizer in the eighth minute before Sarfaraz Khan scored a brace to lead MP’s dominance.

Pool A: Andhra Pradesh 11 (Avinash Chindripu 8th, 18th, 24th, 30th, 51st, Tejkiran Peta 11th, 50th, Rameshkumar Pedapenki 17th, Sampathkumar Mylaram 20th, 69th, Manikanta Venkateswarulu 35th) beat Gujarat 2 (Vijay Thapa 43rd, Nikhil Khatri 45th).

Pool B: Karnataka 4 (Thimmanna Puliyanda 24th, 55th, Biddappa Karieravanda 55th, Mithun Bijwad 60th) beat Chhattisgarh 1 (Amrit Lakra 34th).

Pool C: Bengal 4 (Maskalam Bhengra 6th, Rohit Thakur 20th,65th, Nelson Bhengra 63rd) beat Rajasthan 1 (Harshal Sharma 47th).

Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 6 (Vikas Chaudhary 8th, Sarfaraz Khan 15th, 35th, Armaan Qureshi 58th, 62nd, Ranapratap Singh 66th) beat Chandigarh 2 (Gagandeep Singh Mann 1st, Mohit Singh Thakur 65th).

Pool D: Orissa 8 (Stanli Victor Minz 7th, David Minz 18th, Mikhal Barla 27th, 67th, Deepak Kullu 40th, Dilip Toppo 55th, Bikas Kujur 59th) beat Delhi 0.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link