Bengal register 2nd successive win in hockey nationals

PTI| Last Updated: Mar 03, 2014, 19:33 PM IST

Lucknow: Susheel Gupta slammed a hat-trick to help Bengal thrash Mizoram 5-0 in a league match and register their second consecutive win in Pool C on the fifth day of the fourth Hockey India Senior Men National Championship at Major Dhyan Chand Stadium, here on Monday.

Apart from from Susheel, Asheesh Sengar and Sunil Shah scored a goal each to complete Bengal`s tally.

In another Pool C league match, Kunal Jagdale struck three goals as Maharashtra beat Vidarbha Hockey Association 6-1 to record their third win out of four matches, while the other ended in a 4-4 draw against Chattoshgarh.

Earlier in the day, Chhattisgarh defeated Delhi 2-0 in a Pool D league game.

Chhattisgarh took an early lead in the ninth minute through a field goal by Upendra Pillay before Shaheed Shaikh doubled the scorline in the 62nd minute.

Todays Results:
Pool C: Bengal Hockey Association 5 Susheel Gupta (38th, 46th, 53rd minutes) Asheesh Sengar (18th) and Sunil Shah (30th) vs Mizoram 0.

Maharashtra 6 Kunal Jagdale (23rd, 34th, 56th), Manpreet Singh (37th, 44th) and Vinod Nimbore (70th) vs Vidarbha Hockey Association 1 Mohd Ajaz Qureshi (52nd).

Pool D: Chhattisgarh 2 Upendra Pillay (9th) and Shaheed Shaikh (62nd) vs Delhi 0.