Bengaluru Bulls end U Mumba`s winning streak

Pune: Bengaluru Bulls handed U Mumba handed their first loss of the Pro Kabaddi League at the Balewadi Sports Complex here on Wednesday.

The final scoreline was 33-30 in Bulls` favour.

Starting things off for U Mumba was the usual suspect Rishank Devadiga, ousting Bulls` Preetam Singh.

The star raiders of both the teams - Anup Kumar and Ajay Thakur - got out in quick succession, setting the tone of the game.

After a few quick-fire rounds Mumbai broke through as Thakur lost balance to be quickly captured by men in orange in a tight tackle. Another fierce tackle came in the 12th minute as Rishank Devadiga was taken aback by the charge of the Bulls, falling just short of the centre line.

Bengaluru`s Gurpreet Singh was green-carded for an attempted tackle after stepping out of the field of play.

The two teams traded blow for blow until an unyielding tackle from the U Mumba defence took Ajay out and brought UMumba ahead for a halftime score of 14 -12.

Starting off the second half with a 2-point raid was Devadiga to make sure the close difference between the points get widened. After a couple of empty raids, U Mumba decided to extend its lead as Anup Kumar took out as many as three Bengaluru defenders. After a heated on-field argument with the referee, Bulls` Thakur earned them their second green card of the match.

Bulls` skipper Manjit Chillar was instrumental in earning his team the first and only LONA points of the match in the 37th minute. Despite a tremendous final effort from U Mumba, it was not a blow they could recover from, and the game ended in victory for Bulls.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link